906 Canada Year Book 1980-81

John's, Nfid.; Halifax, NS; Saint John and Belledune, NB; Sept-Îles, Chicoutimi, Baie-des-Ha! Ha!, Quebec City, Trois-Rivières and Montreal, Que.; Churchill, Man.; Vancouver and Prince Rupert, BC; and the grain elevators at Prescott and Port Colborne, Ont. The board reports to Parliament through the minister of transport.

National Health and Welfare, Department of (Health and Welfare Canada). This department was established in October 1944 under the Department of National Health and Welfare Act (RSC 1970, c,N-9). The deputy minister of national health and welfare administers eight branches: health services and promotion, health protection, medical services, administration, social services programs, income security programs, policy planning and information, and intergovernmental and international affairs.

Departmental programs on health include hospital insurance and diagnostic services, medical care insurance, extended health care, health resources, food and drug supervision, narcotics control, federal emergency services, environmental health, adverse drug reaction reporting, operation of a central clearing house for poison control centres, health, medical and hospital services to status Indians and Inuit across Canada and all residents of Yukon and Northwest Territories, family planning grants and information, and government employee health services as well as assistance and consultation services to the provinces on request to assist the development and improve the efficiency and effectiveness of health services.

Welfare programs include the Canada Pension Plan, old age security, guaranteed income supplements and spouses' allowances, family allowances and the Canada Assistance Plan. There are also developmental programs, including national welfare grants, and grants to groups of retired persons. Bureaus on aging and rehabilitation provide consulting services on issues related to aging and the aged and on programs to enhance the integration of disabled persons into their communities and society.

The National Council of Welfare reports directly to the minister who also reports to Parliament for the Medical Research Council.

National Library of Canada. The library came into existence in January 1953 with the proclamation of the National Library Act (RSC 1970, c.N-11). The library compiles and maintains a national union catalogue, representing the holdings of more than 300 Canadian libraries, to facilitate the interlibrary loan of books from major collections in the country; it compiles and publishes the national bibliography, *Canadiana*, in order to establish a complete inventory of what is published in Canada or relates to Canada; it administers the legal deposit regulations which require Canadian publishers to deposit copies of their publications with the library. The library's collection of books and documents totals more than 2 million. The national librarian reports to Parliament through the secretary of state.

National Museums of Canada. This is a departmental Crown corporation established in April 1968 by the National Museums Act (RSC 1970, c.N-12) to join under one administration the National Gallery of Canada, the National Museum of Man (including the Canadian War Museum), the National Museum of Natural Sciences, and the National Museum of Science and Technology (including the National Aeronautical Collection). In 1972, the corporation began developing a national program under a national museum policy to increase public access to collections and to help preserve them. Four of the five programs provide services to the Canadian museum community: the Canadian conservation institute, the national inventory program, the international program and the museum assistance programs. Grants to Canadian museums and related institutions are administered under the museum assistance programs. The fifth program, mobile exhibits, is a direct service to the public.

The national museums corporation reports to Parliament through the secretary of state but is administered by its own secretariat under the authority of a board of trustees. The board consists of a chairman, vice-chairman and 12 members, as well as two ex officio members — the director of the Canada Council and the president of the National Research Council.

The purposes of the corporation are to demonstrate the products of nature and the works of man, with special but not exclusive reference to Canada, so as to promote interest therein throughout Canada and to disseminate knowledge thereof. The corporation is empowered to collect, classify, preserve and display objects; undertake or sponsor research; arrange for and sponsor travelling exhibitions of materials in, or related to, its collections; arrange for publication or acquisition and sale to the public of books, pamphlets, replicas and other relevant materials; undertake or sponsor programs for training persons in the professions and skills involved in the operation of museums; and arrange for or provide professional and technical services to other organizations whose purposes are similar to those of the corporation.

National Parole Board (Parole Board Canada). The board was established in 1959 by the Parole Act (RSC 1970, c.P-2); it has exclusive jurisdiction and absolute discretion to grant, deny or revoke day parole and full parole for inmates in both federal and provincial prisons, except for cases under the jurisdiction of provincial parole boards. The board is ultimately responsible for granting unescorted temporary absences, but in some instances delegates this authority to directors of institutions. The board also has the authority to revoke mandatory supervision.

The board has jurisdiction over persons who are serving a sentence of imprisonment as a result of any federal offence but it has no jurisdiction over juveniles in the meaning of the Juvenile Delinquents Act, or